Sunday Circle #6

Better late! It was just too hot to juggle a laptop on my lap today.

What have I been working on this week?

The structural edit for An Emu War. I have finally massaged through the character motivation for Lily and I am pretty happy with it. Next up will be a second round of structural edits, which I imagine will be a little more focused on plot and setting details, continuity, etc.

I am also preparing for my first ever author panel session for a Historical Novel Society Australasia conference satellite event in Melbourne next Sunday. The panel chair, Gabrielle Ryan, has read mine and the other panellists’ novels/manuscripts and has devised questions that relate to issues common to all our novels. I am excited and nervous. I will be talking about writing multicultural and Indigenous characters and the role of historical fiction in making and taking on Australian myths.

What’s inspiring me this week?

Who do you think you are? The TV show. In the past I have found inspiration and character backstory via Who Do You Think You Are?. Basically, the historical family research has been done for me as a writer, and I have used Australian celebrities’ family histories in short stories. Now I am plotting my current WIP set in 1958-1963 in Brisbane and I’ve found some wonderful snippets about American servicemen in WW2 and reasons for parental abandonment.

What part of my project am I avoiding?

Happy to say I have dipped my toes into the WIP. The structural edit for An Emu War is virtually done, so I can cross that off the list. Apart from the WIP, I also have the story I am writing for my research degree to think about and this week I need to get a wriggle on, working out what the basic plot points might be.

What have you been writing this week?

What is Sunday Circle all about?

Leave a Reply

