My writing goals for 2017

Oh, what grand plans I set myself for writing in 2016.

  • Three short stories to submit to competitions… Ha ha!
  • A novella. *snort*
  • Completing my unfinished MS. *hangs head*
  • Researching my fourth MS. What’s that over there?!

What I did manage to do was this:

  • Revised and resubmitted my MS, Songs of All Poets
  • Revised and researched my MS, An Emu War
  • Underwent a structural edit of An Emu War
  • Added 20K words to my unfinished MS — then abandoned it (again)
  • Wrote 30K words of my ‘fourth’ MS during NaNoWriMo
  • Wrote one short story and submitted it to a zillion competitions and lit mags

I’m happy with that.

In 2017,  my hope is for the words to continue to flow. But I plan to do the following:

  • Undergo further edits to An Emu War
  • Research and write the first and second drafts of my ‘fourth’ MS, tentatively called Crumbs and Stones
  • Research my next MS and write 40K words of the first draft
  • Write two short stories and submit them everywhere

What are your writing goals for 2017?

2 thoughts on “My writing goals for 2017

    1. Haha, I’m sure you’re right, Fi. I achieved more than I’d dared dream this time last year. Just not so much writing got done. Best of luck with your writing in 2017!

      Like

Leave a Reply

