The End – sweet misery

I did it.

I wrote The End on my first draft on Easter weekend. It came swiftly – in the end – and I was left staring at the screen, thinking, “Is that it?” 103,500 words and that’s it?

What do I do now?

I turned to my on-line writing community once more, and posed the question – What do you do when you type the end?

The answers came back.

  • Save it onto a USB, send it to a cloud. Back it up.
  • Housework.
  • Reacquaint yourself with friends.
  • Go for a walk.
  • Watch old Buffy episodes.
  • Simply type The End.
  • Mourn it.
  • Forget about it for a week. A month.
  • Burst into tears.
  • Send it to writer friends for opinions.
  • Start the next one.

All very sound and practical advice (I’d watch Sex and the City instead of Buffy), but I was after something more immediate, something ritualistic to mark the occasion, to signify that something special had occurred in the time-space continuum. A way to remind myself that The End doesn’t come every day.

Something more like this:

But of course, as my fellow forum members, pointed out – it never ends.

I’m in rewrites now.

What do you do when you write The End?

One thought on “The End – sweet misery

Leave a Reply

